Hello! I think my parakeet is ready to lay an egg, need advice! - Talk Budgies Forums

User Menu
Forum Home
Budgie Gallery
Budgie FAQ
Site Guidelines
How-To-Guide
Members List
Today's Posts
Register now!
Search

Advanced Search
Popular Forums
Announcements

Budgie Articles

Budgie Talk

Budgie Pictures

Budgie Videos

Budgie Behavior

Sexing Budgies

Your Budgie's Health

Training and Bonding

Budgie Breeding

In Memory

Other Birds

Contests

Chit Chat

Site Discussion

Talk Network
Talk Budgies
Talk Cockatiels
Talk Parrotlets
Talk Parrots
Sponsored Ads

Go Back   Talk Budgies Forums > Budgie Talk > Budgie Breeding

Notices

Budgie Breeding Learn about and share your own experiences related to breeding budgies.

Closed Thread

Short URL Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2009, 01:28 PM
sugarmyst

Budgie Experience Level: Budgie Owner
Gallery: 0
sugarmyst is on a distinguished road
Default Hello! I think my parakeet is ready to lay an egg, need advice!

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting to this forum. I have male/female parakeets in a cage together, got them a few months ago from a man who couldn't keep them anymore. Not sure of their age but they're definitely both fully mature.

The female has never seemed to like the male very much, seems to peck him whenever he gets to close, etc. However, 2 days ago I noticed she looked very fat in the belly area.. I picked her up yesterday and turned her upside down and clearly, she has a lump the size of an egg in her belly. Now i've had female birds in the past who were alone and have layed eggs so I know its possible she has not mated with the male and its a blank. But either way I decided to build a small nest box and placed it in the corner of their cage (couldn't figure out how to mount it outside of the cage). That was last night.