Talk Network
Talk Budgies
Talk Cockatiels
Talk Parrotlets
Talk Parrots
Sponsored Ads

Go Back   Talk Budgies Forums > Budgie Talk > Training and Bonding

Notices

Training and Bonding Training your budgie can be quite a feat. Let us help you get through the training and bonding process.

Closed Thread

Short URL Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2013, 07:32 AM
Meredith

Budgie Experience Level: Budgie Owner
Gallery: 0
Meredith is on a distinguished road
Default How do you keep your Budgie from flying away?

My budgie steps up and I can pet him but I want him to stay on my finger or on the top of his cage.....how do I keep him on my finger or cage?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-03-2013, 12:44 PM
Adrienne
Hatchling
State:

Budgie Experience Level: Budgie Owner
Adrienne will become famous soon enough

I'm far from an expert on budgies, but I think that flying away is a natural thing for them to do. Keep up your attempts at bonding and I'm sure they'll stop flying away from you and eventually start wanting to fly to you! If you're following Roland's SEAT method (I am, on day three and getting great results!) it's recommended that your bird be able to fly away from you. A this point it's probably not quite sure if you're a predator or not, but over time it will come to think of you as a beloved flock member!

Old 11-03-2013, 01:49 PM
milipidi (Li)
Super Moderator

Budgie Experience Level: Budgie Enthusiast
Gallery: 5
milipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond reputemilipidi has a reputation beyond repute