First things first, what's the difference between a contact and a friend?
A contact is what used to be called a "buddy" before the upgrade. They could be considered members you contact often. The contact group is larger than the friends group. Another member must be a contact in order to be a friend.
A friend is a contact that also appears on your friends list on your profile. When you add someone as a friend, they will be sent a Friendship Request. This is a difference from contacts. You can add anyone to your contact list and they will not be notified. However, contacts do not appear on your buddy list in your profile.
Basically, a friend must be a contact, but a contact doesn't necessarily have to be a friend.
You can access your Friends List in several ways:
Click the Quick Links menu in the navbar, then select Contacts and Friends under the Networking category.
Go to your User CP, and click on Contacts and Friends under the Networking category on the left-hand menu.
Go to your profile page, on the right there will be a list of your friends (six are shown by default), click on Edit Your Friends List.
Once you are at your Friends List page, you will see several things. The first box is your list of Contacts and Friends. Here, you will see your list of contacts and friends. In the upper right corner, you will also see the total number of contacts and friends you have. You can do several things within this area. You can choose to show avatars in the list, or to hide them. Simply check/uncheck the Show Avatars option according to your needs.
How to I remove contacts or friends?
Within each member's box, you will see two checkboxes. One is unmarked and the second is labelled with "Friend."
If you uncheck the unmarked one, this will remove the person as a contact, and thus as a friend as well.
If you uncheck the "Friend" one, the person will be removed only as a friend, but will remain a contact.
You must click the Save Changes button for the changes to take effect!
How to do I add friends/contacts?
Next, you will see the option to add someone to your contacts and/or friends list. Enter the username in the box, and then click either Add Contact to add this person only as a contact; or click Add Friend to add this person as a friend. Note that clicking Add Friend will send the person a friendship request.
If you only add someone as a contact, but later wish to add them as a friend, simply check the Friend box next to their name in your contacts list.