Sore near the tail [Archive] - Talk Budgies Forums

: Sore near the tail

xtremeimport
03-11-2011, 10:49 PM
my budgie has what seems to be a sore near the end of her body(where the tail feather starts) i'm not very good with bird knowledge but it seems over the past few days she has lost a lot of energy. cant fly anymore and has a hard time standing on her branch.

i know it might be to late, but if there is someway to help her i'd like to try. she also doesnt seem to be passing her bowls cleanly and i had to clear it off her body today.

i dont know where she got the sore from but it looks like it was a wound that has no scabbed over.

any help would be great. also, taking her to the vet would cost a lot and not sure if its worth it with her current state.

Shahzadi
03-11-2011, 10:54 PM
A sore? You should check the enitre cage for any pointy and sharp areas. The only other thing I could think of is that it could be a tumour. She doesn't seem to be doing too well. You may want to consult with an avain vet . It's better to treat the bird earlier rather than later. Birds don't get better from illness on their own. Once they're sick, they go downhill...and some very fast :( Also, it costs less if you bring them in earlier...once they're really sick you are going to have to pay a lot more for the treatments, tests, medications etc.

atvchick95
03-11-2011, 10:56 PM
Sounds like she needs to go to the vet
could be a tumor

I just took one of my Tiels to the vet earlier this month when I noticed a lump on her back down toward the tail - about where their preen gland is and noticed she was missing a whole lot of feathers there (her wings usually cover that part up so i didn't see how many were actually missing until I held her(against her will) and spread her wings open)

The vet said it was nothing more than a Pimple (a birdie pimple actually is what he said lol)